Rocking the Crockpot

Happy Christmas Eve Eve everyone! Can you believe it’s only 2 days away??? This year has flown by! My family and I are headed to a family Christmas celebration right now, and I’m already anticipating/dreading the amount of food that’s going to be put on the table! It’s amazing to me how such healthy vegetables as spinach and sweet potatoes can be buttered, covered, chunked, cheesed…you name it, and turned into something that’s totally unhealthy! With that being said, I started my morning with a healthy shake, will be sticking to a salad with lots of veggies and lean protein for lunch, and will load up on tons of water with lemon all throughout the day today. Then when the family meal rolls around this evening, I plan to taste a little of everything, but not eat huge servings of any of it. Oh, and another trick I love is to use a smaller plate for my dinner, like a salad sized plate. Actually my husband and I eat dinner off salad plates nightly, because it’s true, you really do put larger portions on your plate when you use a larger plate. And it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out that larger portions=more calories=weight gain. So get used to eating from smaller sized plates!

Ok ok, there’s my spill on holiday eating. On another note, I’ve been rocking out my crockpot lately y’all! It’s such a busy time of year, and I’ve been running around like a chicken with my head cut off! So the crockpot has been my answer to the mayhem for the past couple of weeks. And I’ve got a couple of recipes I’m dying to share with you guys. So without further ado…

This is a recipe for Slow Cooker Hoisin Chicken. I adapted it from a Whole Foods recipe, but their recipe called for beef. Feel free to substitute beef if it’s your thing, I’m just more of a chicken girl myself. The WF recipe called for round or chuck stew beef if that’s the route you take.

Slow Cooker Hoisin Chicken
Ingredients:
1/2 cup vegetable or chicken broth
1 10-oz) bottle hoisin sauce
1 teaspoon hot sauce
3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 (1-inch) piece peeled ginger, grated
1 1/2 pounds chicken breasts, cut into cubes
2 yellow onions, sliced
1 cup baby carrots
2 ribs celery, roughly chopped

Directions:
Whisk together broth, hoisin, hot sauce, garlic and ginger in a wide, shallow dish or bowl. Add chicken, onions, carrots, and celery and toss to coat. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

Transfer meat mixture to a slow cooker, cover and cook on a low setting until chicken is cooked, 6 to 8 hours. Alternately you may cook on a high setting for about 3 hours.

*even if you don’t have time to marinate the ingredients overnight, the stew will still be delicious. So if you miss that step it’s ok.

This makes 4 servings. I cooked some brown rice and served the chicken on top of the rice…delicious! My husband raved about it for days, and my kiddos loved it too. I had never used hoisin sauce before, but I like it and I will be using it more now, maybe in stir fry.

All right guys, I hope you all have a very merry Christmas! I will be back after the holiday with another amazing crockpot recipe for you, so check back!

December 23, 2011. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Laura Rigsbee replied:

    I even use the kids little plates during the day for lunch with them to keep from overeating and then also use the salad plates at night! It has worked for me!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

