Collard Greens, Who Knew?!

Hello friends!

No, I haven’t dropped off the face of the earth. I’ve just been super busy! And I’m sure you all have been too, right? This is such a fun time of year, and my girls are both at an age where they are just really enjoying all the Christmas stuff this year. So fun!

I have been cooking a lot too though, and I’ve got a couple of great recipes I want to share with you guys! So do any of you really ever think about and try to buy what’s in season? I do, and apparently most greens are in season right now – collard greens, mustard greens, turnip greens, etc. Well, I’ve never really used any greens in my cooking because, quite frankly, I didn’t know much what to do with them. But I knew they were in season right now, and they are reeeally good for you, so I decided to give them a shot. So when searching for a recipe, I turned to my trusty friends at Whole Foods. Now this recipe I didn’t find on their website. I found it on my Whole Foods Recipes app, y’all should check it out!

Easy Collard Greens with Shallots

Ingredients:
1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
2 small shallots, finely chopped
1 bunch collard greens, thick stems removed and leaves thinly sliced
Sea salt, to taste
Ground pepper, to taste

Directions:
Heat olive oil over medium heat in a large skillet. Add shallots and cook for 3 to 5 minutes or until translucent. Meanwhile, rinse sliced greens under water. Drain but do not dry. Add greens to the skillet with salt and pepper. Cover and wilt the greens, stirring occasionally, until bright green and still tender, about 10 minutes. Serve immediately.

Y’all, I have to tell ya… These were so surprisingly delicious! I didn’t know what to expect at all, but the sweetness of the shallots adds so much flavor to the greens. Of course if you don’t have shallots you could substitute onions, but if you can find shallots right now, and I did at Kroger, they really do make the dish. I will definitely be making these again!

So along with my greens last night I threw together another little dish that turned out amazing and will definitely be making its way onto my recipe roster more often! And it was so simple. I used veggies that I had in my fridge, which happened to be a small onion, a zucchini, and some bell peppers (by the way, those three are staples in my kitchen and I pretty much always keep them). I diced up the veggies, and put them in a skillet over medium heat sprayed with cooking spray. Then I put the quinoa in a pot according to the package directions. When the quinoa was finished I add it to the skillet of veggies and mixed it all up with some salt and pepper…heaven! And I have enough left over for lunch today. I’m a happy girl!

Here’s a pic of my dinner last night, in all it’s brightly colored glory.

20111209-070606.jpg

And…I have to share this with you guys because I think it’s so, so very cool.

20111209-070843.jpg

What is this jar full of weeds, you might ask? Well, I’m growing my own sprouts! Pretty cool huh? I got the jar at the health food store, and you soak the seeds in water overnight, rinse the seeds and drain them through the mesh lid of the jar twice a day, and on day 4 or 5 you’ve got your very own sprouts! I’ve always been a sprout girl. I can remember when I was younger, probably early teens, putting them on my salads at salad bars. I love them on sandwiches, and just recently I put some of my homegrown sprouts in egg rolls that I made. Now that’s what I call eating what’s in season!

All-righty guys, I’m off to get ready for my morning spin class. Have a great weekend, and if you guys make something yummy, let me know!

December 9, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

