Sauté/Steaming Veggies

Ohmygosh…I have not even stopped all day! It’s been one of those Monday’s. I’m sure many, if not all of you, can relate. So now it’s 4:00, I have nothing prepped for dinner, and I still have a 6:00 spin class to teach tonight. So for a healthy and fast dinner plan, I’m sticking to the basics: a sweet potato, baked in the microwave, some broccoli, first sautéed then finished off by steaming in the pan (more on that in a sec), and a big leafy green salad. It’s a fast, easy dinner…maybe not very exciting, but for sure healthy.

Ok, here is how I like to do veggies such as green beans, broccoli, sugar snap or snow peas, and sometimes asparagus. First get a good nonstick pan that has a lid to fit. Mine is Rachel Ray from QVC, and I LOVE it. Heat the pan over high and spray with nonstick, then put your veggie of choice in and sauté, stirring frequently, for 5 minutes. Then, turn the heat down to low, place the lid on the pan and let the veggie steam for 5 more minutes. Remove from heat, season with salt and pepper to taste, and a squeeze of lemon juice if you’d like. Voila! Easy, fast and oh so delicious. Try it!

I will have more time during the rest of the days this week to cook, and I’ve got my eye on a couple of fabulous looking recipes. More on those later this week!

I’m off to spin…

November 28, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

