Spaghetti Squash Casserole

Happy Friday guys! It’s the weekend, next week is Thanksgiving and therefore a short week, all is good right?

And I have another unique and delicious recipe to share with you guys. When I was grocery shopping a few days ago (sans kiddos) and had time to really look around at all the beautiful fall produce, out of curiosity I picked up a spaghetti squash. I thought, spaghetti squash, what in the world could I do with you? I took it home with the idea that I would find something amazing to do with the guy.

And I did.

Have you guys ever roasted a spaghetti squash? It’s mind boggling! The inside of this fairly plain looking gourd transforms into a huge bowl of, yep, spaghetti! You could do anything with the spaghetti of a spaghetti squash that you can do with pasta. Except you’re eating a vegetable. Righteous.

Ok, here’s the link to the recipe I used, Dr. Andrew Weil’s Spaghetti Squash Casserole. He suggests two different ways of cooking your spaghetti squash, I roasted mine in the oven. And I actually cooked it probably about 15 minutes or so longer than he suggests, and I took the foil off those last 15 minutes. Then you just let it cool so you can handle it, scoop the seeds out of the middle, and take a fork and start pulling all those spaghetti strands out. Keep going until you get all the way to the rind, there is a lot of spaghetti in there! The rest of the recipe is super simple. You could probably even roast your squash earlier in the day or possibly the day before. Just be sure to allow for the cooking of the squash, getting the spaghetti out, assembling and then baking the whole casserole. I promise it’s not complicated though, and it makes 8 servings, so you’ll probably even have leftovers. And it’s amazing! Heck, I’m more excited about spaghetti squash than I am People magazine’s Sexiest Man of the Year choice! It should’ve been Ryan Gosling…

And while we are on the topic, now is the time of year to experiment with all kinds of winter squashes. Butternut, acorn…there are so many different kinds! You can roast them, purée them into soups (just add a little half and half and some spices), they are very versatile. And in season. So give them a try!

November 18, 2011. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Hailey replied:

    This sounds delish Elizabeth!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

