Hearty Minestrone Soup

Hi guys!

Ok, here’s my new game plan. I’m going to try to consistently post three day a week: on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, probably in the mornings. I love sharing recipes with you guys and ideas for meals that I’m making for my family. If they go over well with my two little girls, I’m all about sharing them with other parents. My girls can be a bit picky about their eating, so when I recognize a success I always want to shout it from the mountaintop!

So with that being said, I want to tell you guys about a delicious minestrone soup recipe I made this past Friday night, that the whole family loved. I used a recipe from…wait for it…the Whole Foods website! You never would’ve guessed right? Actually I use their app on my iPad, but I’m pretty sure the app and the website have the same recipe database. Here’s the link for the minestrone I made.

And here are a few notes. I followed the recipe completely, except for a couple of changes.

-I cut the olive oil back to 1 Tbsp. I find that when I’m sautéing veggies over medium heat, a tablespoon of oil usually works just fine.

-I omitted the savoy cabbage and used fresh green beans instead, which I cut into about 1 inch chunks.

-I didn’t have chickpeas, so I used black beans instead, in addition to the cannellini beans the recipe calls for. Any kind of bean would work for this recipe though, use whatever is in your pantry.

-Next time I make this, which is very likely to be this week as it is DELICIOUS, I plan on playing around with the ingredients and using more seasonal vegetables, such as substituting butternut squash and Brussels sprouts. I’ll give you all the details when I do so.

My girls ate it and actually really liked it! I gave them crackers to crumble up in their soup old school style, like I did as a kid. And of course the hubby ate it as well as the leftovers for lunch the next couple of days. You all already know what I think about soups and things like that: they get better after sitting in the fridge for a day or two.

I’ve got some other yummy things on the menu for this week that I’ll be sharing with you guys, so stay tuned!

November 14, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

