Tempeh Curry with Sweet Potato and Green Beans

Hey guys! So sometimes I like to cook things that are sort of ethnic and to use different flavors than we are used to eating every day. I love Thai food, Indian food…you name it and I’ll pretty much try it. I picked up a package of tempeh a few weeks ago here at the Kroger in Jonesboro, but I have never used it in anything before. So in trying to find a recipe to use it in, I turned to one of my favorite websites, Whole Foods. They actually have a pretty large database of recipes on their website, and there is even an app for your iPhone or iPad.

Anywho, I made this recipe the other night, and it was so delicious! We had some friends over for dinner, and they loved it too (at least they said they did, ha!). I’m pretty sure all the ingredients can be found at your regular grocery store. Here’s the link for the recipe, Tempeh Curry with Sweet Potatoes and Green Beans.

Like I said, I found the tempeh at Kroger. I’ve used tofu many times before, and I like it but it’s never really rocked my world. But I liked the tempeh! The texture was more meaty than tofu, but almost kind of rice like in a way too. The recipe calls for you to steam it in a pot with a steamer basket. I don’t have a basket so I just steamed mine for the same amount of time in my big steamer. But if you have neither of those, there are directions on the tempeh package about other ways you can cook it, and I’m sure that would be fine too. Also, if tempeh just isn’t your thing, I think the recipe would be great with cooked chicken or even maybe shrimp. I could see either of those working out really well with all the flavors of this dish. But if you’re an adventurous cook and like Indian flavors and curries, give it a try! I don’t think you’ll regret it.

Another thing on my mind? A pasta dish made with pumpkin! I’m hunting down the perfect recipe as we speak. The hubby and I got away for a little weekend in Eureka Springs this past weekend, and we had some amazing food there y’all. I’m still thinking about some of the dishes I tried there, but the main one is a pumpkin manicotti that I ordered at a restaurant called Garden Bistro. If you go to Eureka anytime soon GO THERE! Y’all, this pumpkin manicotti that I had…there are no words. It was topped off with a brown sugar butter sauce…ridiculously good. So I’m on a hunt for a recipe that will transport me back! I’ll keep y’all posted.

November 10, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

