Broccoli Sun-Dried Tomato Pasta

Good morning!

I really want to share this recipe with you all. I have been making this dish since my husband and I first got married, and I keep coming back to it over and over again. I adapted it from a cookbook I’ve had for a looong time, I think my Aunt Jan gave me the cookbook years ago when I was just starting to cook.

So here’s the recipe for Broccoli Sun-Dried Tomato Pasta:

Ingredients:
1 (16 oz) package frozen chopped broccoli
8 oz pasta (you can use anything, any shape here, whatever you like)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 cup vegetable broth (or chicken, if you aren’t making it vegetarian)
1/2 cup sun-dried tomatoes, chopped
1 tsp dried basil
Salt and black pepper to taste
Dried red pepper flakes to taste
Optional: 3 cups chopped cooked chicken, Parmesan cheese to taste

Directions:
Cook the broccoli and the pasta using package directions; drain. Sauté the garlic in the olive oil in a large skillet. Add the broccoli and, if using, the chicken. Cook for 1 minute. Add the broth, tomatoes, basil, salt, black pepper and red pepper flakes and mix well. Add the cooked pasta. If desired, sprinkle with Parmesan cheese before serving.

Notes: When making this last night, I opted for the vegetable broth and no chicken as I was making it a vegetarian dish. I have had it with the chicken many times before and it’s wonderful. You could even pick up a rotisserie chicken and use that to save on time, or try shrimp or even Italian sausage if you’d like. If you make it with no meat, it makes about 4-5 servings, with meat you can get about 6 servings.

Like I said, an oldie but goodie! It was super filling last night even without meat, I just served it with a large spinach salad to start. Yum! And, of course, the hubby took some of the leftovers in his lunch today. And, in case you’re wondering, my kids ate it! They just picked out the broccoli and sun dried tomatoes. We are working on veggies like broccoli with them, but I will keep offering them. Hopefully they will decide they like them.

November 8, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

