Buh-bye Halloween Candy!

Hi friends!

What a week right? Halloween has come and gone and I, for one, am thankful.

The candy got the best of me.

But now it’s out of the house. Thank goodness. Halloween was so much fun this year though, my kids really enjoyed dressing up. I had a Strawberry Shortcake and a Dora the Explorer.

On another note, tonight is the first night I have cooked dinner this week! Well, that’s not true really. I did throw together a little veggie stir fry on Monday night, it was just kind of last minute and not very well planned, what with Halloween and everything. Wasn’t it weird having Halloween on a Monday night? Then last night we ate dinner out with some friends. But tonight, I’m cooking. Although its really simple and also kind of thrown together.

Here’s what’s on the menu:
Indian spiced roasted sweet potatoes, roasted asparagus and zucchini, and a big spinach salad. I’m actually teaching a spin class at 6 tonight, and I’m always starving right after, so I’ve got everything roasting in the oven now so all I’ll have to do is heat it all up after I get home! Planning is key, at least for me.

I had mentioned before I was going to start incorporating more root vegetables and brown rice in our diet. Especially now that I’m trying to get my sweet tooth back under control after all the Halloween goodies. I had read that these types of foods, root veggies and brown rice, tend to kind of be sweet when cooked, so eating more of them can help with cravings for sweets. Who knows? Maybe it really does help, we will see!

I’ll definitely share the sweet potato recipe with you guys, it’s too good not to share! I’m a big fan of the Indian spices though. So check back tomorrow for that recipe!

November 2, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

