Ridiculously Good Pumpkin Spice Cookies

Hola! That’s pretty much all the Spanish I know. Sad huh? I really wish I could speak it fluently. I’ll put it on the bucket list. Maybe after nutrition school…then yoga certification…I guess it’s pretty evident that I continuously like to be learning.

So who is happy it’s Friday? I am! We’ve got another birthday party to go to (kid’s) and its even a costume party, and if you are a parent then you already know that’s a big deal. And did you guys know Puss in Boots comes out at the theater today? I just read that this morning, and People.com gave it a decent review. So hopefully we will make it around to seeing that. Oh and I’ll throw a Saturday morning spin class in there. If you’ve joined the St Bernard’s Health and Wellness Institute, start your Saturday off right and come spin with me!

We had the so-so salmon and bok choy leftovers for dinner last night, and it was better because I drizzled some sweet chili sauce over the salmon this time. Yeah, I jazzed it up a little bit. And it made it a lot tastier. Then I was craving something a little sweet, but not crazy sweet because I’m really trying to cut back on sugar. Yes, I’m really making the effort. Not to cut it all the way out, mind you, just cut back. So I came across this recipe for Ridiculously Good Pumpkin Spice Cookies. This was my first time to ever visit this blog, Natural Papa, and I found it through a Google search for healthy pumpkin cookies. Y’all, these cookies are, well, ridiculously good. Seriously. They really aren’t too sweet, the main flavor you taste is really the pumpkin. And (I hear) the dough is amazing too, ya know, before you bake it. Ahem, that’s just what I heard. Anywho, I followed the recipe exactly and even used the egg replacer just because I had some, but he tells you how to use eggs if you want to. I did add probably about a half cup of chocolate chips, and it added a little chocolate-y kick that went nicely with the pumpkin flavor. While I was eating one I even thought that some shredded coconut would be good as well. So use your imagination, and try whatever you want! But they are super easy to make and you won’t be sorry, if you are into pumpkin-y things this time of year like I am.

So the lighting is awful, nighttime, under microwave lighting, and I apologize for that, but at least I did remember to take a pic of the little cookies in all their pumpkin glory:

20111028-072715.jpg

This little recipe is going in my binder, which is where I put only the recipes that I have actually made for my family and they have gotten the raves I so crave when I cook for others. I’m like please tell me you like my cooking and baking…please? Seriously though, the binder is kind of sacred, and this one’s going in there. Somewhere near Spinach and Quinoa Enchilada Bake. Well, they will be filed under different tabs, one is entree and one is dessert, but you get it…only the special ones, my friends.

So, I’m making a couple of homemade pizzas for dinner tonight because my parents are coming into town. And I usually do make my own dough (if you guys want to hear more about that, let me know!), but tonight I’m going to cheat a little. I’ve discovered these whole wheat pizza dough balls. I’ve gotten them at both Fresh Market and Whole Foods in the freezer section, but they are pizza dough balls that have already risen and then been frozen, so all you have to do is thaw them and then roll them out on your pizza stone, top with sauce and your favorite ingredients and pop them in a very hot oven. Voila! So because I’ve got a few of these dough balls, I’m using two of them tonight for homemade pizza. If you have never made homemade pizza, you really should try it. It tastes so much better than what you order from pizza delivery, and it’s so much healthier too. I’ll do my next blog post on homemade pizza.

In the meantime, have you ever tried homemade pizza and, if so, did it turn out well? What are your favorite toppings to try out when making pizza?

October 28, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

