What’s Rocking Your World?

Hey guys! I’ve been busy this morning teaching spin, being mommy, all that fun stuff, but finally got a minute to sit down and blog, yippee!

And I wanted to share a couple of things with you guys that are rocking my world right now. In a good way. Starting with my lunch. It’s my favorite. Lunch. Ever. Seriously.

Here’s a pic:

20111027-131628.jpg

What we have here is a large green salad topped with my other new obsession salad dressing (more on that in a sec), and the piece de resistance: the open faced avocado and tomato sandwich. I toast one piece of whole grain bread (millet is my favorite), spread a little coarse mustard on it, cut up (ok, smash) half of an avocado on it, top with some sliced tomatoes and finish it off with a nice sprinkling of cayenne pepper. I try to eat a little bit of avocado daily, as including healthy portions of good fats can help to increase your energy, boost your immunity and optimize digestion. And avocados are a very healthy source of good fat, in moderation. Cayenne pepper helps to improve circulation, rebuild red blood cells, and remove toxins from the bloodstream. Good stuff friends. If you’ve got a taste for the spicy, not unlike myself, add a dash of cayenne pepper to your food! But this is definitely my standby lunch at the moment, one that I never tire of. And like I’ve said before, I’ve definitely got my vices. So I may sometimes finish off this tasty lunch with a square of dark chocolate. Or two. Ahem.

So here’s another thing that is rocking my world right now:

20111027-144752.jpg

I got this at Whole Foods last weekend, and I know they also carry this brand at Fresh Market as well. It’s the Cindy’s Kitchen Mango, Coconut and Pepper, and I’ve been using it on my salads. But it also says it can be used as a marinade or as a glaze, or for stir fry. And that is on my agenda. Either to use it as a glaze and roast some veggies, or in shrimp stir fry. Y’all, it’s so good. It’s sweet and spicy at the same time, which is one of my favorite flavor combinations. Apparently this Cindy’s Kitchen brand has come out with some new flavors in their line, and I do want to try out a few different ones, but this is going to be a repeat buy for me!

One thing that has been rocking my world in a not-good way? My bum knee. It’s giving me some trouble. I’ve got a torn meniscus but it hasn’t bothered me in probably two years really, and I’m not sure what I’ve done to reaggrevate it, but it’s kind of putting a damper on things for me right now. Yuck.

I did make a salmon and bok choy recipe last night that I had torn out of a Cooking Light magazine a while back. It was pretty good, but I’m not sure it gets a spot on my dinner rotation list. I do like recipes that encourage me to try new and different vegetables, such as bok choy. There are so many interesting vegetables at the grocery store, so sometimes it’s good to step out and try something other than, say, green beans. Who knows, you may discover a new veggie that you adore!

Ok, I’m off to do more mommy and housewife things. But I’m curious, what’s rocking all of your worlds right now? A certain meal you’ve had recently, a yummy new snack you like to have in the afternoons, maybe your favorite fall order at Starbucks…what’s rocking your world?

October 27, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

