A Delicious Pasta Dish

Hellooo and Happy Hump Day! This week has been jam packed for me, which usually seems to make the week go by faster. But for some reason this jam packed week has been dragging for me! So it seems like today should be Thursday or Friday instead of Wednesday. But it’s been a fun week, so it’s ok. I taught my first spin class this morning at the St Bernard’s Health and Wellness Institute, and had so much fun (hi Laura, if you’re reading)! I’m going to be pretty busy up there doing classes, and studying for my nutrition class, but I’m really going to try to stay up on my blog!

So I started my day with some delicious green-ness in a smoothie form. I usually drink about 20 ounces or so of smoothie in the morning. This morning though I drank half of it on my way to spin class, and it made me so full that I had to put off the other half for after class. Now for lunch I’m polishing off some leftovers from the pasta dish I made last night. It was so good y’all, and very different, and my leftovers have been in the fridge so it’s more like pasta salad today. Which is perfectly fine with me. I’m into pasta salads, and this one is amazing. Y’all have to try this one, seriously.

So here’s the recipe I used for the pasta last night. I made it just like the recipe says, except I used two sweet red bell peppers (I get those at Sam’s, do you guys ever buy these? If not, you should! Go now!) and two zucchinis to make it even more full of veggies. If you wanted to add meat to this dish you absolutely could. Maybe if you had some shredded or chopped cooked chicken, or even some turkey Italian sausage, just make sure you cook it in the skillet first for a few minutes. But either of those would be delicious. Or even some cooked shrimp! And if you aren’t crazy for edamame, you could absolutely substitute green peas for it. I really liked the edamame though. I thought it gave the dish a nice subtly salty flavor, not too salty though, and I liked the texture from the edamame. But don’t be afraid to switch out whatever you’ve got in your fridge or just to suit your tastes if there is something in the recipe you don’t love!

Here’s a pic of my leftovers highlighting as pasta salad today:

20111026-125638.jpg

<a

Let me just say once more how yummy this is! If you and your family are into pasta type dishes like this at all, this is a must try. And for those of you that are wondering, and I know you are, my kids ate it too. And they liked it. Checkmate.

And while you're over there at Oh She Glows, take a peek at more of Angela’s recipes! I like everything I’ve made from there. I’ve got my eye on a few more recipes that I’m going to try out soon from her blog.

So have you guys made anything yummy this week that you’d like to share? I’m always open to new recipes, so if you’ve found something worth trying, please do share!

October 26, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

