Halloween Treats?

Hey everyone! How is your week going so far? Mine’s been pretty busy. Today I’ve got a sick child and a doctor’s appointment for her. Here we go again, ’tis respiratory season! And this weather! 45 degrees say what?! I was certainly not ready for that. Maybe some lower 60’s, even mid 50’s, but no, not quite ready for upper 40’s.

So we are still eating on the leftover shrimp quiche. We will probably have it for dinner again tonight, but after that I’ll throw out anything that’s left. With meat, and especially seafood, two days is about all I’ll do in the leftover department. I’m always scared it’ll go funky after any longer than that, and we will come down with some incurable bacterial something or another. Yeck…

So I’ll really been craving candy corn! Think I may just have to pick some up today. Y’all, I adore candy corn. I know it’s just straight high fructose corn syrup, but I just can’t help myself. I may try to figure out a quasi-healthy bar recipe I could put some candy corn in? Just enough candy corn to get the flavor of it, but not overdo it. Cause I most definitely have overdone it probably could overdo it on candy corn right out of the bag. I’ve also got one of those Sprinkles Red Velvet Cupcake mixes from Williams Sonoma in my pantry, so I could also make those for the girls and make them all cute and Halloween-y. Basically I just love to cook and bake. It’s fun to me. My Mamaw used to let me bake with her when I was a little girl, and I always thought it was so much more fun to cook with her than with my mom because Mamaw never cared how big of a mess I made in the kitchen. She just said don’t worry, it can be cleaned up. I try to keep that in mind when I’m letting my girls help me bake and not freak out when flour goes all over the counter and the floor. But I’m human, and sometimes I do freak out when flour goes all over the counter and the floor.

What are all of your favorite Halloween treats? Is there anything interesting and seasonal you all like to make this time of year? If so, please share!

October 19, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

