The Plan For The Week

Hey guys! How was your weekend? Mine was great, very relaxed and low key, lots of playing outside with the kiddos. I love weekends that aren’t packed full of plans. And that’s exactly what I had this weekend, a no plans weekend! I feel very rested this morning and ready to get my Monday on. Oh! I did go see Memphis the musical over in, well, Memphis on Saturday…it’s amazing y’all. If you are thinking about going over there to see it, I definitely say do, you won’t regret it! The story is great and the music, singing and dancing are amazing! It’s definitely worth the trip over.

So even though it wasn’t very cool this weekend, and was actually quite warm and nice, guess what my hubby requested for dinner last night? You got it – chili! I told y’all, we are always eating chili of some form or fashion around here in the fall. I had some of the cutest little squash in my fridge that I picked up last time I was at Whole Foods. They were miniature sunburst squash, and yes I did say they were cute! I needed to use them and thought, why not put them in the chili? So I used this chili recipe that I shared with you guys last week, except I didn’t have the bell pepper and I only had two cans of beans. I also added my cute little squash, which I just cut into smaller pieces, and added a can of Mexicorn. See, really anything goes in chilis or soups. I also made it in the crockpot because I had a spin class and just didn’t want to be around the stove all afternoon. It was great!

So I got a couple of great recipe ideas from one one of my riders in spin class yesterday (thanks Jackie!). The one that really caught my attention, and the one that will make it’s debut at our home for dinner tonight, is seafood quiche! I love quiches and have made many different kinds before, but have never even thought about seafood. You can put lobster in it as well, but I’ve got shrimp in my freezer so that’s the direction I’m going with mine. I’ve also got some mushrooms in the fridge that need to be used, as well as a jar of roasted red peppers in the pantry. I have certain staples that I like to always have on hand, and roasted red peppers qualify as a staple to me. They are so versatile and can be used in so many different types of recipes.

So here’s what our tentative dinner plans look like for the week, always subject to change!

Monday – shrimp quiche with mushrooms and roasted red bell peppers
Tuesday – probably leftover quiche
Wednesday – couscous stuffed red bell peppers
Thursday – probably leftover couscous stuffed red bell peppers
Friday – TBD

And, I have my orientation today for my nutrition school! I’m so excited about that and am really ready to get started on my courses! Thank you all for your sweet words after I told you guys about it on Saturday.

So what do you guys have on your minds for dinner this week? Do you all kind of plan out your week’s dinners in advance, or are you more fly by the seat of your pants about what’s for dinner?

October 17, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

