Crackling Cauliflower

Does anyone else drink a cup of hot water with lemon juice first thing in the morning? According to The Beauty Detox Solution, fresh lemon juice adds enzymes and Vitamin C to your diet, and also helps detoxify your liver, which is your main fat burning organ. Interesting, no? I read Kim’s book a few months ago, and I’ve been drinking my morning cup of lemon water ever since. I just wondered if anyone else does it.

This week is going by so fast! I think. Or maybe it’s going slow? It’s been a busy one, that’s for sure. And the rain yesterday, who saw that coming? It really put me in the mood (again) for chili or soup of some sort. But I didn’t make any. We ate the leftover veggie burgers. Which are only so so. But my husband loved them! I only liked them. I’ll send the two that are left in his lunch today and tomorrow, since he loves them so much. πŸ™‚

Sadly, I didn’t get around to making a dessert yesterday. I ran out of time and, to tell you the truth, I was just a little tuckered out last night. So no dessert, but I did have some dried mango slices after dinner instead. They hit the spot for my sweet tooth. Tonight it’s on though, I’ve got my eye on a pumpkin oatmeal bar recipe, and I’m going to do it. Yessir…

I did, however, make something else that I’m excited about…the Crackling Cauliflower recipe from Whole Foods! When I was there with my friend Emily last week, I bought some from their hot food counter. Y’all, it’s unbelievable, if you like kind of spicy, ethnic-y food. And I do. Here’s a pic of the Crackling Cauliflower I got from Whole Foods:

20111013-065523.jpg

And here is a pic of my Cracking Cauliflower:

20111013-065630.jpg

It’s so yummy! Here’s the recipe in case you want to make it. It’s super easy, the hardest part is chopping the veggies but other than that you just throw it all together and roast.

Whole Foods Crackling Cauliflower

Ingredients:
1 head cauliflower, cut into florets
1 medium yellow onion, chopped
2 Tbsp olive oil (I used coconut oil)
1/2 Tbsp curry powder
1/2 Tbsp garam masala
1/2 Tbsp fennel seeds (optional)
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (you can use less if you don’t love spicy, or even omit)
2 tsp sea salt
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 Tbsp fresh ginger, grated (I didn’t have fresh, so I used about 1/4 tsp ground)
Freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup frozen peas
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. Put everything except the peas and cilantro in a large bowl and toss all together.
3. Pour into a large baking pan and roast for 25-30 minutes, until the cauliflower is crisp-tender and golden-brown. Every 10 minutes or so, stir it all around with a wooden spoon to make sure it’s all roasting evenly.
4. After you remove from oven, stir in the peas and cilantro.

I love this recipe! It’s a great little side dish. Apparently there is a Whole Foods cookbook somewhere out there. I will be tracking one down soon. Do any of you guys have it?

Here’s a bite of my cauliflower:

20111013-071742.jpg

A few other notes about the recipe. Fennel seeds have a black licorice flavor, so if you aren’t crazy about licorice, you might want to leave those out. And I found garam masala at Whole Foods. I haven’t looked at Kroger or WalMart, so I’m not sure if they will have it. If you can’t find it but still want to try it, there is a recipe on allrecipes.com that tells you a couple of different spices you can mix to make it.

On another note, I just saw a preview for the new Footloose and I really want to go see it! It looks cute, no? Of course it probably won’t be as good as the original, but I still think it looks pretty good. Julianne Hough is a cutie patootie.

Are any of you interested in seeing the new Footloose? Are there any other good movies coming out soon, or on DVD for that matter, that you guys want to see?

October 13, 2011. Uncategorized.

4 Comments

  1. victoria replied:

    That looks super yummy!!! I’m definitely going to try that.

    • Healthy Mommy Blogs replied:

      It is!! You could easily put some chicken or something in it too if you wanted to make it into a main course. That’s what I love so much about Whole Foods, I can try different things out from their hot bar, and then make the ones I love at home!

  2. Hailey replied:

    I need you to come clean and cook my veggies for me!!!!!!
    Btw… Brandon is way to easy to cook for!!! No fair! Seth is very picky when it come to veggies! He’s a meat and potatoes (actually rice) kinda guy. Ha

    • Healthy Mommy Blogs replied:

      Hailey you’re right, Brandon IS super easy to cook for! He will really eat anything I cook for him, his only request is that he gets a juicy cheeseburger once a week πŸ™‚ So what kinds of things do you typically make for Seth?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

