Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Something Sweet

So I did make the homemade veggie burgers last night that I told you were on my dinner agenda for the week. And they were, eh, mediocre. Don’t get me wrong, we ate them, we didn’t have to throw them out or anything. They just weren’t Black Bean Enchilada Bake or anything. Now that one is worth sharing, and repeating. And I plan on repeating it soon.

Here is a pic of the veggie burgers:

20111012-055315.jpg

And here are the brussels sprouts I made to go with them:

20111012-055453.jpg

This is my absolute favorite way to make brussels sprouts! They get all roasted and kind of sweet, and I make them perfectly salty! If you even kind of like brussels sprouts, or you don’t like them but you aspire to, you have to try them this way!

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Ingredients:
1 1/2 lbs brussels sprouts
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Cut off the brown ends of the brussels sprouts and pull off any yellow outer leaves. Spread them out on a baking sheet and pour the olive oil over them, as well as the salt and pepper. Mix them all around so that they are all covered in the oil, salt and pepper. Roast for 35 to 40 minutes, until crisp on the outside and tender on the inside. Shake the pan from time to time so the sprouts brown evenly. Sprinkle with more sea salt, if desired (I like ’em salty!), and serve immediately.

Seriously, so easy and a great way to try out a new veggie, if you don’t already eat brussels sprouts often. They look like little baby cabbages, which I think is so cute. Also, for easier cleanup, I like to cover my baking sheet with some foil before I put the sprouts on it. You don’t have to, but it may save you a little mess on your baking sheet.

In other news, I’ve reeeaaally been trying to keep my sweet tooth under control thus far this week (this is funny, no, as it’s only Wednesday). With that being said, I’m thinking about whipping up a little something to nibble on after dinner tonight. Hmmm, should it be something chocolate-y? Or I could make something using dates and go that route. I absolutely love Medjool dates and have to watch myself, because I’ll eat the whole container if I’m not careful! But maybe something pumpkin-y sounds better, it is fall after all! What do you guys think?

Also, I wanted to tell you guys I’m super into pears right now for smoothies! They are in season, and they are sweet and juicy and just perfect! I’m digging using them in smoothies with spinach, cucumber, and either a cup or so of berries or half a banana. And don’t forget to add the liquid stevia! It really gives it that little sweet kick you might need to really enjoy the smoothie.

What are your favorite desserts? Do you guys like pumpkin-y things for this time of year?

October 12, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

