Black Bean Chili, Extra Spicy Please

TGMO!! I just made that up, it’s TGIF’s cousin, Thank Goodness Monday’s Over.

I’m doing this right now:

20111010-170536.jpg

Washing produce. The first thing I do when I get home from the grocery store is spray my non-organic produce with fruit and vegetable wash, then rinse everything off in a sink of water, and lay it all out on a kitchen towel to drain. I know it seems like a pain in the rear, but it actually saves me a bit of trouble when I’m reaching for a cucumber or pear or something to toss in a smoothie, and it’s already been washed. Plus, I swear it keeps my fridge cleaner. I can’t stand putting dirty produce in my fridge! We all have our pet peeves, right? Do any of you wash all your produce right when you get home from the grocery store?

So here’s what we are having for dinner!

20111010-171604.jpg

Leftovers! On Saturday I made some black bean chili, and it delicious! I can’t feed it to the girls though, as I made a huge little mistake with the seasoning. I got my chili powder confused with the ground cayenne pepper, tee hee. No biggie right? Let me just say this, it’s a really good thing Brandon and I looove spicy food! It’s so hot! But like I said, we love spicy, so it’s ok, but the girls definitely can’t have any! Sometimes I think it’s funny though when Brandon eats super spicy foods. They make his forehead sweat, which for some reason is hysterical to me. 🙂

Here’s what I used (with the correct spice measurements, don’t worry!) and how I made it. By the way, I still had a bunch of black beans left over from the enchilada bake last week, which is why I made another dish using black beans.

Vegetarian Black Bean Chili
Ingredients:
2 Tbsp olive oil
2 cups chopped onions
1 red bell pepper, chopped
6 garlic cloves, chopped
2 Tbsp chili powder
2 tsp dried oregano
1 1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
3 15-oz cans black beans, drained
1/2 cup water
2 8-oz cans tomato sauce
1 can chopped green chiles

Directions:
1. Heat the oil in heavy large pot over medium high heat. Add onions, bell pepper and garlic. Sauté until onions soften, about 10 minutes.
2. Mix in chili powder, oregano, cumin and cayenne pepper. Stir 2 minutes.
3. Mix in beans, 1/2 cup water, and tomato sauce. Bring chili to a boil, stirring occasionally. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer until flavors blend and chili thickens, stirring occasionally, about 15 minutes.
4. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

This recipe makes about 6 servings of chili, and each serving contains about 285 calories. I like to serve it with a little cheese (nondairy for me!), and chopped green onions, maybe a little sour cream if that’s what you’re into. The options are endless!

Here’s another little note about reheating chili, or any other soup for that matter. While I think the taste gets better after sitting in the fridge for a day or two (all the ingredients just seem to come together after sitting, ya know?), it will also thicken up on you a little bit. No worries, just add a small amount of water to the pot when reheating it, and stir it while it’s heating back up. And you probably will want to add a little more salt and pepper. Voila! Or, if you’re ok with it being a little thick, don’t add the water. Either way it’ll be fine!

Here’s what my bowl of chili looked like at dinner, yummmm…

20111010-192534.jpg

Here’s what else is on our dinner plan for this week:
Tuesday – homemade veggie burgers
Wednesday – shrimp and veggie stir fry
Thursday – I’m going to try something with tempeh. Not sure what yet, but I’ll get back to you.

Do any of you have anything interesting that you’re cooking this week? If so, please share!

October 11, 2011. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Mary replied:

    I made South Beach Sloppy Joes tonight and hid butter nut squash in them. Ketchup hides all and the kids and my ever-so-picky hubbie are them up;) I did use ground beef instead of turkey tho:/

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

