What a Day!

What a beautiful fall day today has been! The girls and I started our morning with a nice walk. Well, it started out nice, with me pushing both of them in my double jogger stroller. Then they started bickering. And arguing. Then full on hitting. Geesh. I finally threatened them talked them into settling down and being nice to each other so we could finish our walk. Has anyone seen a double jog stroller that sits your kids oh, say, about 5 feet apart? If so, please let me know where! I REALLY wish I was in Fayetteville for the Razorback game, but oh well. I mean I’m not jealous at all of those who are there. I mean I’m sure they probably aren’t even having that much fun anyway right? Nah, it probably wouldn’t be that fun at all, not enough fun to justify the 5 hour drive. Not on a gloriously beautiful fall day, a day perfect for tailgating and cheering on my alma mater. Nope, I’m kind of glad I’m not there, actually. Not jealous at all…

Anywho, I wanted to share with you guys everything that I picked up at ❀ Whole Foods ❀ yesterday! I got some good stuff guys, really good stuff. So let's start!

My youngest daughter and I rode with my friend, Emily, over to Memphis to run a couple of errands. Well guess what? Emily had never been to Whole Foods before! I was so proud to be the first person she ever went there with. By the time we got there it was lunchtime! There's no better place to grab a quick and easy, healthy lunch. Emily and I made ourselves a big container of salad, and here's what mine looked like:

20111008-165951.jpg

It involved lots of romaine lettuce, bell peppers, tomatoes, cucumbers, and my very own homemade dressing that I stashed in my purse to take in with me. There was also some cabbage salad on the salad bar that I got, and that greenish-yellow looking cauliflower? Yeah that stuff is a-mazing. It’s Whole Foods’ Crackling Cauliflower and it’s made with some Indian spices like curry, hence the greenish-yellow color. And I’m going to recreate it at home and share it with you guys! That’s on the agenda for next week.

So while Emily and I munched on our delicious salads, my daughter enjoyed a (huge!) piece of pizza.

20111008-170623.jpg

She was a happy girl.

Here’s what all I picked up:

20111008-172037.jpg

Starting on the left we have Daiya dairy free cheese, which I’m super excited about because I read about it but you can’t find it around here. So I picked up a mozzarella and a cheddar. Then there is another jar of Vegenaise (I’ve been making salad dressing out of that!), some Almond Dream bites, more cereals for the kiddos, and a head of cauliflower and the Indian spice I’m going to use to recreate the Crackling Cauliflower that I adored. I also got some Rudi’s spelt tortillas, some dried mango which I love to snack on on those nights I’m trying to refrain from eating ice cream or chocolate, and Popchips 100 calorie packs, which my hubby loves to take for lunch.

Oh yeah. And then there’s this:

20111008-172818.jpg

I just couldn’t help myself.

Lots of fun new things to try, and I’ll definitely be sharing the recipes I come up with with you guys! I’m planning on doing some black bean chili this weekend because I had a bunch of black beans left over from when I made the enchilada bake.

I wonder what everyone is snacking on at the Razorback tailgate? Not that I care, or anything.

October 8, 2011. Uncategorized.

4 Comments

  1. Hailey replied:

    Hope you don’t get tired of my comments! Haha
    I love it… An organic Reese’s cup! Great excuse Elizabeth. Lol
    And I love pop chips. I haven’t see the 100 cal packs. Those would be good for me because it’s too easy to eat the whole bag :))))
    I also love the salad bar at WF. But I tend to get all the stuff like cheese and meat so it becomes really heavy and expensive since they weigh it. Ha. We were going to the game but Austin got sick Thursday. I don’t need much to talk me out of a 3 hour drive with a 16 mo old. πŸ™‚ have a good week.

    • Healthy Mommy Blogs replied:

      I LOVE your comments Hailey, please keep ’em coming! Girl, I can come up with so many excuses to eat chocolate it’s not even funny. I’m bad!

  2. Elizabeth Butler replied:

    Hey girl! Love your blog! Although I’m not near the “health” nut you are, you give me lots of inspiration and great ideas to go by for a ‘non-vegan’ lifestyle πŸ™‚ So I know you didn’t miss tailgating at all but thought I’d share a new dip that I had at the Ghiradelli tailgate that was easy and fabulous!!! On a plate you make a ‘bed’s of feta cheese (not sure if they make a nondairy version or maybe a tofu would be simlar) then top the feta with pesto sauce then chopped tomatoes, served with pita chips and it was fantastic and clean for a dip. Keep up the great work girl you totally entertain me πŸ™‚

    • Healthy Mommy Blogs replied:

      Hey Elizabeth, so good to hear from you! I’m so glad you like the blog! That dip sounds so delicious and totally up my alley! I love anything that has that Greek-ish taste. Thanks so much for sharing it! I really wish we could make more games, Jonesboro is a good 5 hour drive, and with our 2 little ones it’s just so difficult. Let me know if you ever want to see more/less of something on the blog!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

