What’s For Dinner?

Hello!

So have any of you tried the smoothie? I had a couple requests from you yesterday on the exact recipe I use when I make them, so hopefully some of you have had a chance to try it out! If you come up with any great fruit and veggie combinations, please let me know! I’ve got frozen mango on my grocery list so I can try that sometime soon. Also, it’s pear season! Maybe greens, cukes or celery, pear and some berries? I’ll try it out and let you guys know.

Ok, so I couldn’t wait to blog about the awesome dinner I made last night. My recipe turned out a little differently than I had planned, but still ended up being absolutely delicious. I’ve been playing with using some different kinds of ingredients, such as some vegan things, nondairy cheeses…but you can always substitute with your non-vegan and perfectly dairy-including items, if you so choose. This is just a general guideline.

Spinach and Quinoa Enchilada Bake
(Makes 10 servings)

Ingredients:
2 cups of quinoa (uncooked)
2 cups red enchilada sauce
1 1/2 cups of mozzarella and/or cheddar cheese (I used non-dairy), plus 1/2 cup to sprinkle on top
1 onion, finely chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
2 gloves garlic, finely chopped
6 oz. spinach (about 4 big handfuls), roughly chopped
1 15 oz can of low sodium black beans, drained and rinsed
1 cup tomatoes, chopped
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon dried oregano
Salt and freshly ground pepper (to taste, but I think I used around 1/2 Tbsp sea salt)
1 4 oz can of chopped green chiles
1 cup salsa
4 large tortillas

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. In a 2 quart pot, bring 1.5 quarts of water to a boil and put the quinoa in. Cook until the quinoa
is soft and translucent, then remove from heat and drain in a fine mesh strainer.
3. In a small pot, heat up the enchilada sauce over medium low heat. Mix in the cheese and stir
until the cheese has melted.
4. Heat a large, nonstick skillet over medium heat. Spray with nonstick spray, and add the onion,
red bell pepper and garlic. Cook for 3-5 minutes, stirring often.
5. Add spinach to skillet and cook, stirring often, until spinach is wilted.
6. Add quinoa, black beans, tomatoes, spices, green chiles, and salsa. Cook, stirring often, until
mixture is hot. Season with salt and pepper to taste. I used about 1/2 Tbsp of salt.
7. Spray a 9×13 baking dish with nonstick spray. Pour 1/3 of the enchilada/cheese sauce into the
bottom of the prepared dish.
8. Put half of the quinoa mixture into the dish. Top with 2 of the tortillas. If need be, tear the
tortillas so that all of the mixture is covered with tortilla.
9. Cover the tortillas with the rest of the mixture. Cover the mixture with the other 2 tortillas, once
again tearing them if you need to so that all the mixture is covered with tortilla.
10. Pour the remaining enchilada/cheese sauce over the top.
11. Sprinkle with 1/2 cup more cheese (if desired) and bake for 25-30 minutes, or until the sauce
is bubbly and the cheese melted.

It was so delicious y’all! I had intended for this dish to be actual enchiladas, but the only tortillas I had were Ezekial Sprouted Grain. They are wonderfully healthy, but they do not roll up well. When my first tortilla snapped in half as I was filling it with mixture, I knew I had to change the name of the recipe from enchiladas, to enchilada bake. It does have a nice ring to it though, no? And even though this picture does it no justice at all, here’s what it looked like:

20111004-142322.jpg

And yep, you guessed it! There was enough for leftovers. That means get home tonight from spin class, chop up a little green salad for myself and the hubs, heat up the enchilada bake, and dinner is served. Bliss….

October 4, 2011. Uncategorized.

6 Comments

  1. Andrea replied:

    I made the smoothie this morning and LOVED it. It definitely needs the Stevia or some sweetner, but was still so good. Thank you so much for posting this!

    • Healthy Mommy Blogs replied:

      Your welcome! I’ve drank it with and without the Stevia, and I definitely think it helps to have a little sweetener in it. Sweet fruits like bananas and pineapples will really help too! So glad you liked it!

  2. Elizabeth Crowson replied:

    This sounds awesome!! I am going to have to try…but I will be using real cheese 😉

    • Healthy Mommy Blogs replied:

      That’s ok! That’s the idea, most recipes you can adapt to your family’s preferences. Let me know how you like it if you get a chance to make it!

  3. Catherine Adams replied:

    We had make-your-own smoothies for breakfast today! Everyone got to choose what went in theirs. The kids did not pick veggies although my youngest really wanted green! He did not like the idea of lettuce;) Altogether a great success…mango, strawberry, banana and orange (and we added romaine and cukes for the adults). Thanks for a great idea!!!

    • Healthy Mommy Blogs replied:

      That’s a neat idea Catherine! Sometimes I make my girls strawberry banana smoothies (or whatever fruits I have on hand), and I do throw in a small amount of spinach. I tell them it’s green because of the kiwi 😉 I’m so glad your family liked it!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

