The Smoothie Situation

Hey guys!

So I’ve had a few requests for the smoothie recipe and how to make it. I’m gonna give you guys the “blueprint,” but feel free to make swaps for both the veggies as well as the fruits! I’ve tried a few different combinations and have really loved each one! WARNING: in my opinion, arugula is awful in a smoothie! My only smoothie dislike thus far. You have been warned!

Here is the smoothie recipe I use, adapted from celebrity nutritionist Kimberly Snyder’s Beauty Detox Solution (which is a fabulous book chock full of information on a healthy lifestyle!).

1 cup water
4 oz (or 3 large handfuls) spinach, or other green of your choice
1/2 apple, roughly chopped
1/3 cucumber, roughly chopped
Juice from 1/2 lemon
1/2 banana
Stevia to taste

In a blender, add the water and the spinach or green of your choice, and blend until smooth. Add to that your chopped apple and cucumber, and blend again until smooth. Add to that your banana and lemon juice, as well as Stevia to your taste (I like using the liquid Stevia if you can find it), and blend again until smooth.

This makes approximately a 20 ounce serving. As Kimberly says on her website, you can substitute any different greens and vegetables, as well as any fruit you want. The goal is for the smoothie to be around 70% greens, according to Kim. I’ve tried apples, pears, romaine lettuce, spring mix, celery, peaches, strawberries, mango…and I’ve liked all the different combinations. EXCEPT arugula. This is not a joke.

I hope this helps you all out, and I also hope you all check out Kimberly’s site as well as her book! It really made a lot of sense to me.

October 4, 2011. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Sarah Strobbe replied:

    Looooove this!! Thnx Liz!

  2. Megan Henry replied:

    Made the smoothie this morning. It was really good and definitely a repeat!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

