Monday, No-fun Day

Happy Monday! I said that with as much enthusiasm as I could muster. What is it about Monday that’s so annoying? Everyone is always rushing around. It’s a completely different vibe on Monday than, say Wednesday or Thursday, and certainly different than the vibe on Friday! Really, I am not that crazy about Mondays. So let’s talk about yesterday!

This is how I started my Sunday morning:

20111002-174820.jpg

A delicious smoothie made with spinach, apple, cucumber, banana, lemon juice, and a couple of strawberries for good measure. Tons of important minerals and nutrients were in that baby, along with loads of fiber that kept me full until lunch! I swear, you’ll never believe me that it tastes as good as it does until you make one for yourself and try it. Promise you won’t be disappointed!

So I’m working on a guest post for another blog (more about that soon!), and for testing purposes I whipped up a batch of homemade sweet potato fries for our Sunday dinner. They were delicious! I used two large-ish sweet potatoes, and between myself, the hubby, my brother in law and my two daughters, there wasn’t one fry left. And sweet potatoes are so incredibly good for you! They are full of vitamins A and C, both of which are powerful antioxidants that work in the body to remove free radicals. It’s a win/win! Here’s how to make a batch of your own sweet potato fries:

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees. You can either peel your sweet potatoes or leave the skin on, but if you leave it one give them a good scrubbing first. Then dry them really well. I cut my potatoes in half since they were so big, and I cut off the little pointy ends. Then start cutting the potato into 1/4-1/2 inch wide fries. Spray some nonstick spray on a baking sheet to help keep your fries from sticking. I also think the nonstick spray helps the fries to get crispier. Spread your fries out on the baking sheet, and drizzle with about a tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil. I like to also spray ’em again here with another quick shot of nonstick spray. Then sprinkle on some sea salt (I like mine pretty salty! They are fries after all!), I’d say around 1/2 tablespoon, or to your taste, as well as some freshly ground black pepper. Now use your hands and toss them all around on the baking sheet so that all of the fries are good and covered in the olive oil, salt and pepper. Now pop them in the oven for 15 minutes. When that’s up, take them out of the oven, give them one last shot of nonstick spray, and use a spatula or spoon to toss them around the cookie sheet. Put them back in the oven for about 10 more minutes, but watch them closely so they don’t burn. Voila! Homemade, delicious sweet potato fries!

Along with the fries I had a big green salad (which I topped with my new Whole Foods Vegan No Oil Tahini salad dressing. It’s delicious! I’m going to recreate it at home and share that recipe with you all soon.), grilled corn on the cob that came straight from a good friend’s garden, and some grilled asparagus. I always feel better when I have a healthy meal on Sunday nights. Usually I’ve splurged over the weekend on things I don’t typically eat during the week (and lots of splurging took place this weekend!), so I always feel like eating a healthy meal on Sunday evening starts me off on the right foot for the week. If I eat an unhealthy meal on Sunday evening, I tend to wake up Monday morning feeling sort of sluggish and, I don’t know, just kind of funky, ya know?

On Sunday, I also like to kind of look at our week and plan out a little menu, depending on what our plans are for the week. I’m a huge list maker! You know the little notebook looking icon on iPhones? Yeah, mine stays full all the time with different lists, including but not limited to: dinner menus, daily to do lists, songs I want to use in playlists (I’m a spin instructor, and I hear good songs in the most unlikely of places, so I have to jot them down when they are fresh on the brain!), a list of things I want need next time I’m near a Whole Foods, recipes that random people tell me about from time to time, the measurements of the chest in my living room, just in case I come across that perfect mirror or piece of art to go above it…yep, I use that little notebook icon a LOT.

Here’s what I think will be on the dinner menu for us this week: some kind of black bean enchiladas or tacos, some sort of homemade veggie burgers, shrimp stir fry of some sort, and maybe a pasta/veggie dish. And absolutely some sort of yummy homemade treat…remember those dates I bought the other day? And of course I’ll share the recipes with you! Oh! And back to the playlist mention, that reminds me of an idea I had the other day: would any of you like for me to post some of the playlists I use in my spin classes every now and then? The good thing about the playlists from my classes is that the songs vary in their BPM’s, or beats per minute. So for instance one song will be kind of a faster song for a quick jog, then the next one will be a slower one for a climb. I’ve used them before even like on the elliptical or treadmill at the gym, anywhere you could do intervals. If it’s something you all would be interested in, I can definitely post one every now and then.

So what’s on your dinner menus for the week? Is anyone making anything interesting? If so, do tell!

October 3, 2011. Uncategorized.

4 Comments

  1. Hailey replied:

    Keep em comin!!! I love sweet potatoes!!! I’d like to see your playlists. Each spin teacher that I go to uses different music. I think the music is important. Oh, I like the room dark and the music LOUD. Ha
    I would love to be able to do the green smoothies but not sure if I could stick with it. I may give a try sometime. Do y’all eat salmon? I made some tonight.

    • Healthy Mommy Blogs replied:

      Hailey I love sweet potatoes too! You just can’t go wrong with ’em, no matter how you make ’em. I’ll post a playlist next time, and anytime you have a song recommendation let me know! From what I remember in college, you’re an 80’s girl aren’t ya? And I like my spin room dark and loud too!! And yes, we love salmon!! I prepare it a couple of different ways, but believe it or not it’s great cooked on the grill (or in the oven) with just a little BBQ sauce! That’s a super easy way I like to make it if I’m short on time and don’t want to mess with something fancy. What’s your favorite way to cook it?

  2. Hailey replied:

    Good morning! On the Salmon, brush with olive oil, fresh dill, capers, and mustard seeds. Bake…It’s delish….. Give it a try 🙂 I’ll have to try the BBQ sauce. Sounds yummy

    • Healthy Mommy Blogs replied:

      Oooh sounds yummy, definitely going to try it! Brandon looooves anything made with capers! I’ve seen him eat ’em out of the jar 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

