Zoo Food and Other Things

Happy Friday everyone! My family and I took advantage of this gloriously sunny day to head to the zoo. Of course I started my morning off with my green smoothie, I just don’t feel right for the day whenever I don’t get to have one! Today’s green smoothie consisted of about a cup of water, about 4 oz (roughly 2-ish handfuls) of romaine lettuce, about a third of a cucumber, half of an organic apple, half a banana, the juice of half a lemon, and a dropper of liquid Stevia. I’m telling you, one of those babies in the morning will keep you full and energized until lunchtime! I’ve even got my husband drinking one every now and then (but not today, he loves his bacon from time to time, and today I was not talking him out of that bacon).

So for our lunch at the zoo, I packed lots of yummy and healthy things. For my husband and I, I made sandwiches on millet bread (gluten free) with sprouts, Wholly Guacamole (the two avocados I had in my kitchen had gone bad, and I like to get some sort of avocado in daily – it’s a very healthy fat!), some sliced tomatoes and a smear of stone ground mustard. One of my standby meals for lunch, this sandwich never disappoints! I also packed us up a little baggie of baby carrots and sugar snap peas. Something I’ve really been trying to do lately is to start every meal with raw veggies of some sort or another. A green salad, cucumber sticks, celery sticks, red bell pepper sticks…whatever you’ve got! Just some kind of raw veggie. When you start a meal with raw veggies, you are loading up on very high fiber foods first, which will make you feel fuller faster.

The girls got yummy peanut butter and banana sandwiches, with a drizzle of local honey. My kids LOVE honey, they’d eat it on anything! They really love it on yogurt as well. I also packed them a little bag of grapes. I really wish they would eat some of the veggies too! But we just aren’t quite there yet. We had a nice little picnic at the zoo, and we just could not have asked for better weather! All the animals were out of their homes enjoying the sunshine, just like these two.

20110930-140557.jpg

And I’m stopping at one of my very favorite places on the way home, Whole Foods. Le sigh. Why can’t we have one in Jonesboro? Is that really asking too much? I promise, if I come across anything new and wonderful (and I always do) today at Whole Foods, I’ll share it with you guys next time.

I also wanted to tell you about the delicious vegetarian white chili I made the other night! Here’s how it went down:

I started by sautéing half of a large onion (chopped) and a large zucchini (chopped) in a skillet until softened. I had a Canterbury Naturals White Lightning Chicken Chili kit that I got in the organic section at Kroger. I followed the directions on the bag, except I left out the chicken and used vegetable broth instead of chicken. I added the sauteed onion and zucchini along with about a cup and a half of frozen corn. I served it with Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free bread, which I’ve never made before but I’m so glad I did! It’s delicious, my husband kept talking about how good the bread was and could he have a second piece? I’m telling you, when the weather starts to cool off I immediately start thinking of chili, and I like it all: red, white, beans or no beans, adding whatever veggies I have on hand to throw in there. But you’ve gotta try this. And the best part? It tasted even BETTER the second night! I got home (starving) from teaching a 5:30 spin class, and all I had to do was warm the chili up a few minutes, slice a piece of the bread, put together a little green salad, and we were sitting down to eat. Did I mention that I love leftovers?

So tell me, do you guys like hearing about things other people eat during the day? For some reason I’m always so curious to read or hear about other people’s daily eating habits. Maybe I’m just nosy like that.

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

September 30, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

